<bgsound src="MIDIS/the-maid-from-tidehead.mid">

The Royal Government in New France

The Royal Government was adopted in 1663 and its key characteristics were that King Louis XIV wanted to make France the most powerful country in Europe and to make New France a strong colony.

The Charter of the Company of 100 Associates (1627-1663) was cancelled because it had defaulted on its promise to transport thousands of settlers to New France, and the colony now came under the king's direct control. Jean-Baptiste Colbert was Louis XIV's most important minister and he was to run the colony through the Ministry of the Marine. To execute their plan, Royal Government was thus established in New France in 1663.

The Royal Government was established as follows:

  • Intendant:

    Responsible for the daily economic affairs of the colony, trade, justice, finance, settlement and seigneurialism.

  • Governor:

    The governor represented the king in the colony. He was responsible for the defence of New France and for relations with the English and the Indians.

    The Bishop was in charge of the church which in turn was reponsible for the spiritual and social needs of the colony through its church, its schools, charities, hospitals and for the conversion of the Natives.

  • The Sovereign Council:

    Consisted of a dozen officials including the governor, intendant and bishop. It acted as a legislative, administrative and judicial body and it was the sole governing authority in the colony responsible to the king.

  • Captains of Militia:

    The Captains of the Militia reported to the Intendant about the concerns of the habitants and informed the habitants of the Intendant's plans.

  • ? Lucie LeBlanc Consentino
    Acadian & French Canadian Ancestral Home
    2006 - Present

    Please Navigate This Web Site
    Using The Sidebar To The Left
    If You Do Not See A Sidebar Click Here